Stay Home Music Activities

At a time when we’re all being asked to Stay Home, I’m sending good vibes in the form of music activities for you and the people you are staying home with. Most of these activities refer to groups of people, but the activities work equally as well with 2-5 people, roughly the number of people in one household. Adapt by reducing the number of parts, and putting one person to a part.

People of all ages like nothing more than being creative, so if an activity takes a different tack than you see here, go with it! Staying Home is going to make us all more creative, in so many ways 🙂

Chants and games using spoken voice:

Memory and Making the Most of Ear Worms (memory games, ages 5-9)

Science: Learning about acoustics using marbles (ages 5-12)

Music listening game: Ready…set…listen! (all ages)

Music: Freeze dance (ages 2-9)

Music using digital devices: Play it again, Sam (ages 13-adult)

Pedagogical Guides written for Orchestre symphonique de Montréal:

Peter and the Wolf (ages 5-12)

Phantom of the Opera (ages 13-adult)

Language arts: Sound poems (ages 4-8)

 

 

 

Getting pitchy

Funnily enough, I find one of the biggest challenges in facilitating participatory creative music is how to deal with pitch. It seems silly since pitch is one of the fundamental parameters of music.

Here’s the situation: I walk into a high school band room full of 20 to 30 teens playing wind instruments. Our task is to co-compose, rehearse and perform a piece in one hour. I’ve just met the players. I don’t know their musical taste or level of music theory, let alone their names. It’s go time!

The first thing I do is make sure people know that there are no wrong notes in a creative process, only interesting ones (see Knitting Lessons for more). After that, it’s crucial to find a way for everyone to talk about pitch easily. When I’m a guest in a high school band class, we usually warm-up with the lingua franca of high school band, a concert Bb Major scale. Happily this lends itself to speaking in scale degrees.

EDIT: A number of people have asked me to explain what scale degrees are. Scale degree associate a number to each note of the scale (i.e. the first note of the scale is 1, the second note of the scale is 2, etc.). Here are the scale degrees for CM:

           1     2     3     4      5     6      7     8(1)

CM:   C     D     E     F     G     A     B     C

And for FM:

          1     2     3     4      5     6      7     8(1)

FM:   F     G     A     B     C     D     E     F

When dealing with transposing instruments for whom the sounding pitch has a different letter name per instruments (e.g. concert Bb is a fingered Bb for flute, a fingered C for clarine), scale degrees lets you ask for ‘scale degree 1 in concert Bb Major’. Each musician then translates this into a pitch on their instrument. So rather than saying “flutes play x, trumpets and clarinets play y, altos play z, oh and you’ve got French horns…”, I can simply say, “play scale degree X”.

I wax poetic about scale degrees. Even if a group is not familiar with scale degrees, it takes maximum 10 min. for to become comfortable with them. Not only do they make pitch-based exercises easier to lead as a facilitator, scale degrees empower participants to speak directly with one other, rather than going through me, their teacher or a transposition chart. Easy communication means people are more inclined to make music on their own, which is ultimately what I hope for.

Once you have decide on how to talk about pitch, here’s a process to find pitch material:

  1. Ask four participants at a time to play any note on your cue.
  2. Cue multiple times, asking participants to change notes on each cue, resulting in a series of 4-note chords.
  3. Ask participants to pick one of the chords to play with.
  4. Write the notes on the board, using scale degrees or transposing as necessary.
  5. On your cue, ask the full band to play any one of the four notes on the board, resulting in a rich orchestration of this chord.

This sequence takes around 20 minutes, including warm-up. I learn a lot about groups’ musical preferences and experience during this time, which helps me direct the process moving forward. Groups choose wildly different pitch material to work with, from crunchy atonal clusters to four-note jazz chords to open fifth power chords. I go with whatever a group chooses – it’s their music, after all.

Samples of pitch material chosen by different school groups

Here are some examples of the pitch material various groups have chosen:

  • 3-7
  • 1-3-7
  • 2-4-6-8
  • 3-4-7
  • 1-4-#4-5

 

In the next blog post, we’ll take this process on to the next challenge: a group that clearly wants to make beat-based music.

 

Ready… set… listen!

Ever sat and listened silently for an extended period of time with a class of 8 year olds? In the cafeteria where they normally get to talk with their friends as much as they want? I wasn’t sure about how this was going to work with elementary school kids, but I was convinced: in order to have an effect on noise levels in any space, you start by listening. So if the project Sound Bites aims to reduce the noise levels in the Coronation Elementary School cafeteria, we need to make listening fun and engaging for the students…

Ready… set… listen!

It is a fairly ambitious task to ask 20 or so children under the age of 12 to sit and listen in silence for any length of time, so music teacher Connie Wilson and I took great care into setting up the following activities for success.

“Anybody want to do a treasure hunt?”

The kids were all in.

Sound Treasure Hunt

  1. Before playing the sound treasure hunt, ask students to name any sound they hear (e.g. a sneeze, a car horn honking, shuffling feet).
  2. Ask students to identify a sound they hear frequently in this room, and not say it out loud. Pick one student to ‘play’ the sound while everyone else covers their eyes (e.g. eraser on whiteboard, chair scraping, percussion mallets clacking against each other). Ask for volunteers to guess what the sound was.
  3. Ready… set… listen: Over a two-minute period, sit quietly and listen. Then, ask students to write or draw the sounds they heard. If they have trouble remembering what they heard previously (I do!), they can write or draw any sounds they are currently hearing. Ask volunteers to read their list or describe what they heard. Notice the similarities and differences in what students hear.

Tips:

Use a visual aid to show where you are in the two minutes period to avoid the inevitable question ‘how much longer?’

Adapt the length of time to your group. I prefer several listening periods of shorter time frames so the treasure hunt is different every time. Given how much how quickly sound changes in an elementary school, one two-minute treasure hunt could feature the janitor walking down the hallway with a trolley, greeting a few kids, while the next might be about the sounds of the heating system starting (reluctantly), and the next basketball practice in the gym down the hallway.

Brainstorm a number of distinct acoustic environments to listen to that are within easy walking distance. Repeat the treasure hunt in each location, writing and drawing the sounds of each. Discuss, comparing locations.

For Sound Bites, we chose to listen to a stairwell, the library, and two different locations in the cafeteria. The kids floored me with their enthusiasm and acute ears. As you can see in the images in this post, their responses are amazing, complex and varied, and say as much about each individual as it does about their school.

Musique à la maison

À un moment où on nous demande tous de rester à la maison, j’envoie de bonnes vibrations sous forme d’activités musicales pour vous et les gens avec lesquelles vous restez à la maison. La plupart de ces activités se réfèrent à des groupes, mais les activités fonctionnent également avec 2 à 5 personnes, à peu près le nombre de personnes dans un logement. Adaptez les activités en réduisant le nombre de parties et en mettant une personne sure chaque partie.

Les gens de tous âges n’aiment rien de plus que d’être créatif, donc si une activité prend une voie différente de celle que vous voyez ici, allez-y! Rester à la maison va nous rendre tous plus créatifs, à bien des égards 🙂

Jeux : Les billes et l’acoustique

Jeux d’écoute : À vos marques, prêts ? Écoutez!

Danse et musique : Freeze dance

Musique et film : Play it again, Sam

Poésie : Poèmes sonore

Guides pédagogiques écrits pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal :

Pierre et le loup

Le Phantôme de l’Opéra

À la hauteur de…

Curieusement, un grand défi dans la co-création avec les amateurs est de trouver une façon pour que les participants décident les hauteurs du matériel musical.

Voici le contexte : j’entre dans la salle d’harmonie d’une école secondaire pleine de 20 à 30 ados. Notre tâche est de co-créer, répéter et jouer une pièce dans le délai d’une heure. Je viens de rencontrer les participants. Je ne connais ni leur goûts musicaux ni leur niveau de théorie musicale, et encore moins leurs noms. On y va!

Premièrement, je m’assure que les gens savent qu’il n’y a pas de mauvaises notes dans un processus créatif, seulement des notes intéressantes (voir Notes de mes cours de tricot). Ensuite, je cherche un moyen pour que tout le monde puisse parler facilement des hauteurs. Quand je suis invité dans une école secondaire, nous nous réchauffons généralement avec une gamme de Sib majeur, la lingua franca de l’harmonie. Heureusement, cela se prête aux degrés de la gamme. Donc, je peux préciser « jouez le degré X », plutôt que « les flûtes jouent telle note, les trompettes et les clarinettes jouent telle note, les altos jouent telle note, euh, et vous avez des cors… »

Petite astuce: j’adore les degrés de la gamme. Non seulement ils facilitent la communication entre moi et l’ensemble, mais les degrés de la gamme permettent aux participants de parler directement entre eux, plutôt que de passer par moi, leur professeur ou un tableau de transposition.

Une fois que vous avez établit le mode de communication, voici un processus pour trouver les hauteurs:

1. Demandez à quatre participants à la fois de jouer n’importe quelle note sur votre signal.
2. Donnez plusieurs signaux, en demandant aux participants de changer leurs notes à chaque fois, ce qui donne une série d’accords à 4 notes.
3. Demandez aux participants de choisir l’accord qu’ils préfèrent.
4. Écrivez les notes au tableau en utilisant les degrés de la gamme ou en les transposant au besoin.
5. Sur votre signal, demandez à tout le monde de jouer une des quatre notes au tableau, résultant en une orchestration riche de cet accord.

Cette séquence dure environ 20 minutes, y compris le réchauffement. J’apprends beaucoup sur les préférences musicales et les niveaux des groupes pendant cette période, ce qui m’aide à orienter la suite. Les groupes montrent des préférences musicales extrêmement différentes, en choisissant des clusters atonaux, des accords de jazz à quatre notes, et des intervalles de quintes. Je suis les intérêts du group – c’est leur musique, après tout.

Voici quelques exemples du matériel musical choisi par différents groupes.

  • III-VII
  • I-III-VII
  • II-IV-VI-VIII
  • III-IV-VII
  • I-IV-#IV-V

Dans le prochain article de blog, nous continuerons ce processus avec le prochain défi: quoi faire avec un ensemble qui veut clairement faire de la musique avec un beat.

À vos marques, prêts ? Écoutez!

Est-ce que vous êtes déjà assis avec un groupe d’enfant de 8 ans pour écouté en silence pendant une période prolongée ? Encore plus, est-ce que cela est arrivé à la cafétéria où ils peuvent normalement parler avec leurs amis autant qu’ils le souhaitent? Je n’étais pas sûre de la façon dont les jeux d’écoute allaient fonctionner avec les enfants du primaire, mais j’étais convaincue: pour avoir un effet sur les niveaux sonores dans n’importe quel espace, on commence par écouter. Pour que le projet Sound Bites réussisse à réduire les niveaux sonores dans la cafétéria de l’école primaire Coronation, nous devons présenter l’écoute de manière amusante et intrigante pour les élèves…

À vos marques, prêts ? Écoutez!

Demander à une vingtaine d’enfants de moins de 12 ans de s’asseoir et d’écouter en silence pendant une période de temps est une tâche ambitieuse. Le professeur de musique Connie Wilson et moi-même avons donc veillé à ce que les activités suivantes soient couronnées de succès.

« Qui veut faire une chasse au trésor? »

Les enfants étaient tous dedans.

La chasse au trésor sonore

1- Avant de jouer à la chasse au trésor sonore, demandez aux élèves de nommer tous les sons qu’ils entendent (e.x. un éternuement, un klaxon de voiture, des frottements de pieds).

2- Demandez aux élèves d’identifier un son qu’ils entendent fréquemment dans cette pièce et de ne pas le dire à haute voix. Choisissez un élève pour ‘jouer’ le son pendant que tout le monde se couvre les yeux (e.x. frottez une efface sur le tableau, grattez une chaise, frottez des baguettes de percussion). Demandez à des bénévoles de deviner quel était le son, ou de le décrire.


3- À vos marques… prêt… écoutez : Pendant deux minutes, asseyez-vous et écoutez. Ensuite, demandez aux élèves d’écrire ou de dessiner les sons qu’ils ont entendus. S’ils ont du mal à se rappeler de ce qu’ils ont entendu (comme moi!), ils peuvent écrire ou dessiner les sons qu’ils entendent actuellement. Demandez aux bénévoles de raconter ce qu’ils ont entendu. Remarquez les similitudes et les différences dans ce que les élèves entendent.

Astuces:
• Utilisez une aide visuelle pour indiquer où vous en êtes dans la période de deux minutes afin d’éviter la question : ‘Il reste combien de temps encore?’
• Adaptez la durée à votre groupe. Je préfère plusieurs périodes d’écoute courtes afin que la chasse au trésor soit différente à chaque fois. Compte tenu de la rapidité avec laquelle le son change dans une école primaire, une chasse aux trésors de deux minutes peut inclure le gardien qui marche dans le couloir avec un chariot, tandis que le suivant chasse au trésors peut concerner les sons du système de chauffage qui démarre, et la prochaine la pratique de basket dans le gymnase à côté.

Pensez à des environnements acoustiques diverses qui sont facilement accessibles à pied. Répétez la chasse au trésor dans chaque lieux, en écrivant ou en dessinant les sons de chacun. Discutez en comparant les lieux.

Pour Sound Bites, nous avons choisi d’écouter les escaliers, la bibliothèque et deux endroits différents de la cafétéria. L’enthousiasme des enfants pour cette activité et leur écoute attentive m’ont émerveillé. Comme vous pouvez le voir sur les images de ce post, leurs réponses sont étonnantes, complexes et variées, et en disent autant sur chaque individu que sur leur école.