Getting pitchy

Funnily enough, I find one of the biggest challenges in facilitating participatory creative music is how to deal with pitch. It seems silly since pitch is one of the fundamental parameters of music.

Here’s the situation: I walk into a high school band room full of 20 to 30 teens playing wind instruments. Our task is to co-compose, rehearse and perform a piece in one hour. I’ve just met the players. I don’t know their musical taste or level of music theory, let alone their names. It’s go time!

The first thing I do is make sure people know that there are no wrong notes in a creative process, only interesting ones (see Knitting Lessons for more). After that, it’s crucial to find a way for everyone to talk about pitch easily. When I’m a guest in a high school band class, we usually warm-up with the lingua franca of high school band, a concert Bb Major scale. Happily this lends itself to speaking in scale degrees.

EDIT: A number of people have asked me to explain what scale degrees are. Scale degree associate a number to each note of the scale (i.e. the first note of the scale is 1, the second note of the scale is 2, etc.). Here are the scale degrees for CM:

           1     2     3     4      5     6      7     8(1)

CM:   C     D     E     F     G     A     B     C

And for FM:

          1     2     3     4      5     6      7     8(1)

FM:   F     G     A     B     C     D     E     F

When dealing with transposing instruments for whom the sounding pitch has a different letter name per instruments (e.g. concert Bb is a fingered Bb for flute, a fingered C for clarine), scale degrees lets you ask for ‘scale degree 1 in concert Bb Major’. Each musician then translates this into a pitch on their instrument. So rather than saying “flutes play x, trumpets and clarinets play y, altos play z, oh and you’ve got French horns…”, I can simply say, “play scale degree X”.

I wax poetic about scale degrees. Even if a group is not familiar with scale degrees, it takes maximum 10 min. for to become comfortable with them. Not only do they make pitch-based exercises easier to lead as a facilitator, scale degrees empower participants to speak directly with one other, rather than going through me, their teacher or a transposition chart. Easy communication means people are more inclined to make music on their own, which is ultimately what I hope for.

Once you have decide on how to talk about pitch, here’s a process to find pitch material:

  1. Ask four participants at a time to play any note on your cue.
  2. Cue multiple times, asking participants to change notes on each cue, resulting in a series of 4-note chords.
  3. Ask participants to pick one of the chords to play with.
  4. Write the notes on the board, using scale degrees or transposing as necessary.
  5. On your cue, ask the full band to play any one of the four notes on the board, resulting in a rich orchestration of this chord.

This sequence takes around 20 minutes, including warm-up. I learn a lot about groups’ musical preferences and experience during this time, which helps me direct the process moving forward. Groups choose wildly different pitch material to work with, from crunchy atonal clusters to four-note jazz chords to open fifth power chords. I go with whatever a group chooses – it’s their music, after all.

Samples of pitch material chosen by different school groups

Here are some examples of the pitch material various groups have chosen:

  • 3-7
  • 1-3-7
  • 2-4-6-8
  • 3-4-7
  • 1-4-#4-5

 

In the next blog post, we’ll take this process on to the next challenge: a group that clearly wants to make beat-based music.

 

For Leila

Welcome back! To kick off the season, here is a tale about my 3-year old friend Leila, who she is, how she makes music and some thoughts on facilitating creative music with people of all ages, whoever they may be.

for Leila

I lost my mitts. Again. I always lose my mitts. This time it’s minus 33 outside and I’m outside the garderie looking at Leila playing in the snow, feeling the cold bite my hands. I can’t have come without my mitts. I would have noticed. They must be inside.

“Leila. I lost my mitts. Can you help me find them?”

Leila looks at me, puzzled, and keeps digging in the snow. I’m puzzled too. These mitts are huge – big black mitts that come almost up to my elbows, keep my hands warm in this frigid cold, and are really hard to lose.

“I lost my mitts, Leila. Where’d they go?”

She looks up, still puzzled, but I have her attention. What belongs to who is important to Leila. Ever since she could crawl, she’s brought me my things. My shoes when I’m sitting in the living room talking with her mom. My coat, bringing it to me in the middle of a crowded party. My backpack, dragging it with determination since it weighs almost as much as she does.

I ask for her help. I mean it. I don’t want to make the trek across the city in this cold without my mitts. I looked everywhere in the garderie. Even the garderie staff looked. Nobody could find my mitts.

“Leila, my mitts. Where’d they go?”

She looks up at me and makes the gesture every 3-year old I know makes that means ‘I dunno’. Then she starts looking: up, down, around. We walk to the garderie, the snow brittle and crunching under our feet. I open the door, and the warm air rushes out to greet us, fogging up my glasses so I can’t see anything.

“Where are my mitts, Leila? I looked everywhere,”

I say as I polish my glasses. I put them back on and see Leila holding my mitts up, delight shining out of her face.

“Leila, you found them! Where were they?”

“They were right there, Louise! Right there.”

And Leila holds my mitts while we walk back outside, holds them while I put her in her stroller, holds them while I struggle with that damn buckle, holds them while I get her snack. Holds them until we are ready to go. Leila looks up at me.

“Your turn, Louise. Mitts on. Yaay!!”

This from my 3-year old friend who just learned how to say my name in full, Lou-ise, two weeks ago. She’s looking after me. Looking after me in the best way she knows. Bringing me my mitts. Keeping my hands warm. Cheering me on.

This tale reminds me to pay attention to the person or people in front of me and recognize their strengths and interests. In the case of Leila, not only is she far better at some things than I am (keeping track of my mitts is not the only thing), she is one of the best improvisers I know. Ever since she was born, she has explored every object she can get her hands for it’s potential for sound, from scratching surfaces and fabrics with her fingernails to very purposeful real-time mixing using various sound-making toys. Put an electric guitar on the floor for her to play with, and she creates sounds I’ve never heard from a professional. It would be easy to assume that Leila doesn’t ‘know’ anything because she’s three, but then I would be completely missing out on what she already does very skillfully.

When I enter a room full of people ready to make music, I do my best to keep in mind that there is always more to another person than I can possibly know, and the last thing I want to do is underestimate someone. Who is this person? What do they know and like? What skill have they honed, and take pride in? How do they know and understand the subject at hand, and related subjects? How is this the same or different to how I know and understand these subjects? What can I learn from them? How can we make music together?

All the best in your creative music endeavors this season!

Imagine…

Imagine going to an island for the first time and wondering where the shoreline is. When I arrived on the Magdalen Islands for a residency at Grosse-Île School, there was ice and snow as far as the eye could see and winds so cold it gave me a cold headache. When I left a month later, the wind was still blowing, waves were crashing on the beach and the community was buzzing with excitement in anticipation of the approaching fishing season. With thanks to A School Hosts an Artist of Culture in Schools and ELAN’s ACE Initiative for their support, Grosse-Île students, community members and I explored music inspired by place – and what a place to be inspired by!

And what people to be inspired by, too. When CBC Breakaway host Alison Brunette asked Kayla Leblanc, a Grade 7 student at Grosse-Île school, ‘What have you learned from making this radio drama?, she replied,

‘That we could come together and make anything as long as we put our mind to it. Because at first we didn’t really have any ideas for the story and then we all started thinking and it slowly started to come along.’

To hear more, listen to November Storm, the radio play written and mixed by Gr. 7 students featuring sound samples created and recorded by students Gr. 2 to Gr. 11, including guest voice work by principal Hugh Wood.

Listen to Kayla describe her experience:

CBC Breakaway: Students on the Magdalen Islands craft radio drama

Listen to the process behind making music inspired by place, how this residency came about, and some of my reflections on the experience:

CBC Breakaway Louise Campbell visits Grosse-Île

Read ELAN Artist Feature:

Artists in Education: Louise Campbell

Sound poems

“You want me to what? Oh no, I have a terrible voice…”

What musician hasn’t heard that, or said it themselves? Most people speak daily. However, ask people to sing and insecurities abound. I have a lot of ways of putting people at ease using their voice in a musical setting. One way is to ask people to play with words as sound.

Ten-second Sound Poem

Instrumentation: Voice
Age & ability: All ages, no musical training necessary
Number of participants: 6-35

Choose a topic and brainstorm words related to that topic. I’ve had groups choose place names, seasonal and natural phenomenon, and shared experiences. Steer the conversation towards onomatopoeia, words that sound like what they mean.

For example, let’s take water:

Dribble, roar, bing, swoosh, plop, sploosh, plonk, burble, sploosh, whoosh, trickle, drip, plop, gurgle, splash, kerplonk…

The list goes on and on! Do call-and-response with your participants playing with different ways of saying the words. Sploosh can be full voice or whispered, long or short, with sibilant s’s or a long drawn out shhhh….

Next, write each word on a piece of paper and ask each participant to choose a word at random. Surprise! Which word are you going to draw?

Then, conduct a Ten-second sound poem: as conductor, signal the beginning of a series of 10- second time segment. Each participant speaks their word at any point during the ten seconds. I might say splooooooooooosh at the beginning of the ten seconds, or at the very end. Each ten-second segment is unique as the participants say their word at a different points, in different ways.

The Ten-second sound poem can go in many directions. The conductor can change the duration for shorter, longer, getting faster, getting slower. Change conductors, or have multiple conductors. Choose new words. Check out this in-class recording of a co-composition by my group Sing! using this process – we surprised ourselves with this one!

Water poem, co-composed and performed by participants of Sing!, spring 2017

What happens if…

Your students have a basic understanding of how instruments make sound. What happens if we deconstruct an instrument to it’s most basic element: the part that produces sound? What happens if we play only part of the instrument? What happens if we reconstruct the instrument using found objects? What happens if…

You get the picture. Today is about instrument design, modification and sound exploration.

Instrumentation: Wind & brass
Age & ability: All ages, all abilities
Number of participants: full class or groups of 2-3

Let’s deconstruct the clarinet, since it is the instrument I know best. The mouthpiece and reed create the basic sound of the instrument. The body of the clarinet acts as a resonator. To reconstruct a clarinet, we tinker with the body of the instrument.

Some useful materials for construction.

Found objects as resonators: What can be used as a resonator other than the body of the instrument? Think of household materials you already have, such as paper towel tubes of different lengths, rolled up aluminum paper, a popped balloon. Find a way to create an air-tight seal around the mouthpiece and the resonator. If there are small air leaks, use saran wrap around the join between the mouthpiece and the resonator to help the seal. How and why do different materials sound different?

Reconstruct the clarinet itself: How many different ways can you put a clarinet together? What does it sound like if you play the mouthpiece and barrel alone? Or the mouthpiece, barrel and top joint? What happens if you play with the mouthpiece in the bell? What happens if you put the clarinet together normally and hold materials across the bell and tone holes? Play a low E and cup the bell with a metallic bowl, aluminum paper, or tissue paper.

The Frankenstrument! Reconstruct the clarinet with other instruments: What happens if you play the clarinet mouthpiece with the resonating bodies of other instruments such as a trombone or flute?

My current Frankenstrument!

Warning: I supervise Frankenstrument construction to make sure the instruments don’t get damaged. Be gentle! Never force two instruments together. If two instrument parts don’t fit:

  1. Ask one participant to hold the mouthpiece and blow and another participant to hold the instrument body against the mouthpiece.
  2. Construct a tube to connect the two instrument parts.
  3. Use parts of instruments that are no longer playable or repairable.

Have fun! I’m fairly certain your students will surprise you with this one.

À la hauteur de…

Curieusement, un grand défi dans la co-création avec les amateurs est de trouver une façon pour que les participants décident les hauteurs du matériel musical.

Voici le contexte : j’entre dans la salle d’harmonie d’une école secondaire pleine de 20 à 30 ados. Notre tâche est de co-créer, répéter et jouer une pièce dans le délai d’une heure. Je viens de rencontrer les participants. Je ne connais ni leur goûts musicaux ni leur niveau de théorie musicale, et encore moins leurs noms. On y va!

Premièrement, je m’assure que les gens savent qu’il n’y a pas de mauvaises notes dans un processus créatif, seulement des notes intéressantes (voir Notes de mes cours de tricot). Ensuite, je cherche un moyen pour que tout le monde puisse parler facilement des hauteurs. Quand je suis invité dans une école secondaire, nous nous réchauffons généralement avec une gamme de Sib majeur, la lingua franca de l’harmonie. Heureusement, cela se prête aux degrés de la gamme. Donc, je peux préciser « jouez le degré X », plutôt que « les flûtes jouent telle note, les trompettes et les clarinettes jouent telle note, les altos jouent telle note, euh, et vous avez des cors… »

Petite astuce: j’adore les degrés de la gamme. Non seulement ils facilitent la communication entre moi et l’ensemble, mais les degrés de la gamme permettent aux participants de parler directement entre eux, plutôt que de passer par moi, leur professeur ou un tableau de transposition.

Une fois que vous avez établit le mode de communication, voici un processus pour trouver les hauteurs:

1. Demandez à quatre participants à la fois de jouer n’importe quelle note sur votre signal.
2. Donnez plusieurs signaux, en demandant aux participants de changer leurs notes à chaque fois, ce qui donne une série d’accords à 4 notes.
3. Demandez aux participants de choisir l’accord qu’ils préfèrent.
4. Écrivez les notes au tableau en utilisant les degrés de la gamme ou en les transposant au besoin.
5. Sur votre signal, demandez à tout le monde de jouer une des quatre notes au tableau, résultant en une orchestration riche de cet accord.

Cette séquence dure environ 20 minutes, y compris le réchauffement. J’apprends beaucoup sur les préférences musicales et les niveaux des groupes pendant cette période, ce qui m’aide à orienter la suite. Les groupes montrent des préférences musicales extrêmement différentes, en choisissant des clusters atonaux, des accords de jazz à quatre notes, et des intervalles de quintes. Je suis les intérêts du group – c’est leur musique, après tout.

Voici quelques exemples du matériel musical choisi par différents groupes.

  • III-VII
  • I-III-VII
  • II-IV-VI-VIII
  • III-IV-VII
  • I-IV-#IV-V

Dans le prochain article de blog, nous continuerons ce processus avec le prochain défi: quoi faire avec un ensemble qui veut clairement faire de la musique avec un beat.

Pour Leila

Pour commencer la saison, j’aimerais vous raconter une petite histoire sur Leila, mon amie de trois ans, qui nous permettra d’apprendre à la connaître et de voir comment elle fait de la musique. Je partagerai également quelques réflexions sur la manière d’animer la musique créative chez toutes sortes de gens.

Pour Leila

J’ai encore perdu mes mitaines. Je les perds toujours. Sauf que cette fois-ci, il fait -33°. Je suis en train de regarder Leila jouer dans la neige dans la cour de la garderie, les mains gelées par le froid. Impossible que je sois venue sans mes mitaines, je m’en serais rendu compte. Ils doivent être à l’intérieur.

« Leila, j’ai perdu mes mitaines. Peux-tu m’aider à les retrouver? »

Leila me regarde sans comprendre et se remet à creuser dans la neige. Moi non plus, je ne comprends pas. Mes mitaines sont énormes – ce sont de grosses mitaines noires qui remontent jusqu’aux coudes. Elles gardent mes mains bien au chaud quand il fait un froid glacial et sont très difficiles à perdre.

« J’ai perdu mes mitaines, Leila. Où sont-elles passées? »

Elle me regarde, toujours sans comprendre, mais j’ai maintenant son attention. Leila se préoccupe beaucoup de ce qui appartient à qui. Depuis qu’elle marche à quatre pattes, elle essaie toujours de m’amener mes affaires. Une fois, c’était mes chaussures, alors que je discutais avec sa mère dans le salon. Une autre fois, j’étais au beau milieu d’une grosse soirée, et elle m’a apporté mon manteau. Un jour, elle m’a même amené mon sac à dos, qui pèse presque autant qu’elle, en le traînant avec détermination.

Je lui demande son aide, et je suis sérieuse. Je ne veux pas traverser la ville dans ce froid sans mes mitaines. Je les ai cherchées partout dans la garderie. Même les employés de la garderie les ont cherchées, mais personne ne les a trouvées.

« Mes mitaines, Leila, où sont-elles passées? » Elle me regarde et fait le geste que font tous les enfants de trois ans pour dire « je ne sais pas », puis se met à chercher de tous côtés, sans succès. Nous décidons ensuite de retourner à la garderie pour chercher à l’intérieur. Dans le froid hivernal, la neige craque sous nos bottes. Quand j’ouvre la porte de la garderie, c’est un courant d’air chaud qui nous accueille. Mes lunettes s’embuent et je ne vois plus rien.

« Où est-ce que mes mitaines pourraient bien être, Leila? J’ai regardé partout », je lui dis en essuyant mes lunettes. Une fois que je les remets, je vois Leila qui tient mes mitaines, un grand sourire au visage.

« Leila, tu les as trouvées! Où étaient-elles? »

« Elles étaient juste là, Louise! Juste là. » Elle les garde pendant que nous sortons de la garderie, que je la mets dans sa poussette, que je me bats avec la fichue ceinture de la poussette, que je lui donne son goûter. Elle me regarde une fois que nous sommes prêtes à partir : « À ton tour, Louise. Mets tes mitaines. Youpi! »

Tout ça de mon ami de 3 ans qui vient juste d’apprendre à prononcer mon nom au complet (« Lou-ise ») il y a deux semaines. Elle s’occupe de moi. Elle prend soin de moi du mieux qu’elle peut, en m’apportant mes mitaines, en gardant mes mains au chaud, en m’encourageant.

Cette histoire montre pourquoi il faut porter une attention particulière aux gens avec qui nous interagissons pour reconnaître leurs forces et leurs champs d’intérêt. Dans le cas de Leila, non seulement elle fait bien des choses mieux que moi (et pas seulement surveiller mes mitaines), elle est l’une des meilleures improvisatrices que je connaisse. Depuis sa naissance, elle explore le potentiel sonore de tous les objets qu’elle trouve, que ce soit en grattant les surfaces ou les tissus avec ses ongles ou en faisant du « mixage » en temps réel avec des jouets sonores. Posez une guitare électrique sur le sol pour qu’elle puisse la jouer, et elle créera des sons qu’un professionnel ne saurait reproduire. Je pourrais facilement me dire que Leila « ne sait rien » parce qu’elle a trois ans, mais ce serait passer à côté de toutes les choses qu’elle fait déjà très habilement.

Lorsque j’entre dans une pièce remplie de gens prêts à faire de la musique, je fais de mon mieux pour ne pas oublier que les gens sont toujours plus profonds qu’on ne l’imagine, et qu’il faut avant tout éviter de les sous-estimer. Je me pose une série de questions : Qui sont ces gens? Quelles connaissances ont-ils, qu’est-ce qu’ils aiment? Quelles sont les compétences qu’ils ont perfectionnées et dont ils sont fiers? De quelle façon comprennent-ils le sujet qui nous occupe et les sujets reliés? Les comprennent-ils de la même manière que moi ou pas? Que puis-je apprendre d’eux? Quelle est la meilleure manière de faire de la musique ensemble?

Bonne saison à tous!

 

Imaginez …

Imaginez ma surprise quand j’ai débarqué sur une île qui ne semblait pas avoir de rivage. En effet, quand je suis arrivée aux Îles de la Madelaine pour une résidence d’artiste à l’école Grosse-Île, ce n’était que neige et glace à perte de vue. Lorsque je suis partie un mois plus tard, les vagues se brisaient sur la plage et les gens de Grosse-Île se préparaient avec enthousiasme pour la saison de pêche. Dans le cadre du volet Une école accueille un artiste du programme La culture à l’école et avec le soutien de l’initiative ACE de l’organisme ELAN, les étudiants, les membres de la communauté et moi avons exploré de la musique inspirée par les lieux. C’était vraiment l’endroit parfait pour faire cela ! Pour en apprendre davantage sur cette expérience ou écouter la musique que nous avons créée :

Écouter : le feuilleton radiophonique « November Storm » créé par les étudiants

Lire : Grosse-Île accueille une artiste, article dans le journal Le Radar:

Grosse Ile acceuille une artiste

Écouter : une étudiante parle de son expérience :

CBC Breakaway (en anglais)

Poèmes sonores

« Tu veux que je fasse quoi? Oh non, je chante vraiment très mal… »

Quel·le musicien·ne n’a jamais entendu ou prononcé ces paroles? Au quotidien, la plupart des gens parlent. Toutefois, demandez-leur de chanter, et voilà qu’une panoplie d’insécurités se manifestent. En ce sens, j’ai plusieurs façons de mettre les gens à l’aise en contexte musical. Entre autres, je les invite à jouer avec la sonorité des mots.

Poème sonore de dix secondes

Instrumentation : voix
Âge et niveau d’habileté : tous les âges; aucune formation musicale n’est nécessaire
Nombre de participants : 6-35

Choisissez un sujet et faites un brainstorming pour trouver des mots qui s’y rattachent. Parmi mes groupes, on a déjà opté pour des noms de lieux, des thèmes liés aux saisons ou aux phénomènes naturels, et des expériences partagées. Dirigez la conversation afin qu’on y relève des onomatopées, soit des mots dont la sonorité rappelle le sens.

Par exemple, prenons l’eau :

Bloub, fschhh, bing, plouf, ploc, gloup, sploush, splotch, plic, plop, glouglou, splaf, pschitt…

La liste ne s’arrête pas là! Lancez un échange ludique avec vos participant·es où on explore une variété d’inflexions et de prononciations. On peut vocaliser le son sploush ou le chuchoter, l’étirer ou l’écourter, y incorporer des s sifflants ou un chhhh bien prolongé…

Ensuite, écrivez chaque mot sur un bout de papier et demandez à chaque participant·e de choisir un mot au hasard.

Ensuite, dirigez un Poème sonore de dix secondes : en tant que chef, indiquez le début d’une série de segments de 10 secondes. Chaque participant·e dit son mot à un moment donné pendant un de ces segments. Par exemple, je pourrais dire splouuuuuuuuuush au début – ou à la toute fin – d’un segment de dix secondes. Comme les participants vocalisent leur mot à leur façon et à intervalles variés, chaque segment de dix secondes est unique.

Le Poème sonore de dix secondes peut prendre plusieurs tournures. Le ou la chef peut modifier la durée des segments en les raccourcissant, en les allongeant, en accélérant ou en ralentissant leur cadence. Remplacez le ou la chef, ou désignez plusieurs chefs. Choisissez de nouveaux mots. Allez découvrir cet enregistrement d’une co-composition réalisée en classe selon ce procédé par mon groupe Sing! – notre création nous a bien surpris·es!

Water poem, composition collaboratif et performance par les participants de Sing!, printemps 2017

Que se passe-t-il si…

Vos élèves comprennent, de façon rudimentaire, comment les instruments produisent du son. Que se passe-t-il si on déconstruit un instrument jusqu’à ce qu’on obtienne sa composante la plus rudimentaire, soit celle qui produit du son? Que se passe-t-il si on ne joue qu’une partie de l’instrument? Que se passe-t-il si on le reconstruit à en y incorporant des objets trouvés? Que se passe-t-il si…

Vous voyez le genre. La conception et la modification des instruments, ainsi que l’exploration sonore, sont d’actualité.

Instrumentation : vents et cuivres
Âge et niveau d’habileté: tous les âges, tous les niveaux
Nombre de participants : groupe-classe complet ou groupes de 2-3

Déconstruisons la clarinette, puisque c’est l’instrument que je connais le mieux. Essentiellement, c’est l’embouchure qui sert à produire le son de l’instrument. Le corps de la clarinette sert de résonateur. Pour reconstruire une clarinette, on manipule le corps de l’instrument.

Matériaux utiles.

Les objets trouvés comme résonateurs : de quoi pourrait-on se servir comme résonateur, mis à part le corps de l’instrument? Pensez à des matériaux que vous avez déjà en main à la maison, tels que des tubes d’essuie-tout de différentes longueurs, un rouleau de papier d’aluminium, un ballon éclaté. Trouvez une façon d’étanchéifier le raccord entre l’embouchure et le résonateur. S’il y a de petites fuites d’air, enroulez de la pellicule plastique autour de la jonction entre l’embouchure et le résonateur pour en améliorer l’étanchéité. Comment et pourquoi différents matériaux produisent-ils des sonorités différentes?

Reconstruisez la clarinette : combien de façons différentes y a-t-il d’assembler une clarinette? Quels sons obtenez-vous si vous ne jouez qu’à travers l’embouchure et le barrillet, ou encore si vous ne jouez qu’à travers l’embouchure, le barrillet et le corps du haut? Que se passe-t-il si vous jouez de l’embouchure alors que celle-ci est insérée à même le pavillon? Que se passe-t-il si vous assemblez la clarinette normalement et vous utilisez des matériaux pour recouvrir le pavillon et les trous? Jouez un mi grave en recouvrant le pavillon d’un bol de métal, ou d’un bout de papier d’aluminium ou de papier de soie.

Mon Frankenstrument préféré!

Le Frankenstrument! Reconstruisez la clarinette en y incorporant d’autres instruments : que se passe-t-il si vous raccordez l’embouchure de la clarinette à des résonateurs empruntés à d’autres instruments tels qu’un trombone ou une flûte?

 Mise en garde : afin d’éviter qu’on endommage les instruments, je supervise la construction des Frankenstruments. Allez-y doucement! Ne forcez jamais la jonction de deux instruments. S’il est impossible de raccorder deux parties d’instruments :

  1. Demandez à un·e participant·e de tenir l’embouchure et de souffler dedans; demandez à un·e autre participant·e d’appuyer le corps de l’instrument contre l’embouchure.
  2. Bricolez-vous un tube servant à raccorder deux parties d’instruments.
  3. Servez-vous de parties d’instruments injouables ou irréparables.

Amusez-vous bien! Dans ce cas-ci, j’ai confiance que vos élèves vous réserveront des surprises.