Ack! Here comes the concert

You’ve been doing all this improv, everyone is having a great time, and now the concert is looming. What to do? I say improvise in concert, as is. Or you can get a wee bit more composition-y about it. Let’s take the previous blog post ‘Long tones made fun’ one step further…

The basic rule of the game stays the same: you can play a long tone, or a silence. Now for pitch choices. Play through several versions of this game using different pitch set options (see previous blog post or invent your own). Does your group like certain pitch sets better than the others? Take the group’s favourite pitch sets and find a way to display them so that everyone can read off the same chart – a white board, Smartboard or other kind of projection works well for this. Then have one person ‘conduct’ by pointing to which set they want the group to play and for how long.

This is what your white board might look like. The conductor points to a pitch set and the players go to town using those pitches!

Choose different conductors – each conductor will lead the group through the pitch sets in different ways with different timing. This alone is fascinating. For the concert, ask the audience to guess the rules of the game and then have your three most enthusiastic conductors lead the group through the same game – audiences love it, because they hear how active music-making is and they get to be a part of it, too!

Long tones made fun

I admit I’m a geek – I like to play long tones even after 30 years of playing my instrument. It’s a form of meditation when I get to forget about everything and enjoy making sound. I can wax poetic about it, but I also recognize that not everybody feels this way! Yet, more than anything else, long tones dramatically improve my students’ playing. So how do I make long tones interesting and inspiring for the less-geeky-than-me? Oh, I have so many ways…

Sound and silence

Instrumentation: Wind, brass, strings, pitched percussion
Age & ability: All ages, intermediate to advanced
Number of participants: 6-35

My long-time long-tone favourite is a game piece in which players have two choices:

    1. play a long tone
    2. play a silence
Campbell, Sound and Silence

The long tones and silences can overlap in any way, creating shifting textures and timbres as different instruments come in and drop out at various times.

Campbell, Sound and Silence, a variation

Pitches can be open or predetermined. Here are some examples of predetermined pitch sets:

Choose from:

          1. An E in any octave
          2. Any note of a specific chord, such as C Major or E minor minor 7
          3. Any note of specific scale, such as pentatonic, or D Major
          4. Any note from a tetrachord such as (0, 1, 2, 6) or C, C#, D, F#
          5. Any note of the chromatic scale

Any of these options can go on for a fair while. Encourage your participants to listen and respond to each other. Each group takes it in a different direction – yours will too.

More next time on shaping this game into collaborative composition.

Ouf! Le concert approche

Vous avez beaucoup improvisé, les gens s’amusent comme des fous, et maintenant, le concert approche à grands pas. Que faire? Je vous dirais d’improviser en concert comme vous le faites déjà. Sinon, vous pouvez opter pour une approche légèrement plus compositionnelle. Prenons S’amuser avec les sons filés – l’article de blog précédent – comme point de départ, et allons un peu plus loin…

La règle principale du jeu reste la même : vous pouvez faire un son filé ou un silence. Ensuite, pour ce qui est du choix de notes… Réalisez plusieurs versions du jeu en vous servant d’ensembles de notes divers (voir l’article précédent ou créez vos propres ensembles). Votre groupe a-t-il une préférence pour certains ensembles de notes? Déterminez les ensembles de notes préférés de votre groupe, et demandez à une personne d’en « diriger » l’exécution en indiquant au groupe l’ensemble de notes à jouer ainsi que la durée désirée.

Exemple de score.

Choisissez plusieurs chefs – chaque chef dirigera l’exécution des ensembles de notes à sa façon, et à une cadence qui lui sera propre. En tant que tel, c’est fascinant à observer. Pour le concert, demandez au public de deviner les règles du jeu; ensuite, faites diriger ce même jeu par vos trois chefs les plus enthousiastes – les publics adorent, car ils y perçoivent le niveau d’engagement qu’implique la création musicale… tout en pouvant y participer!

S’amuser avec les sons filés

Je suis geek, je l’avoue – j’aime faire des sons filés sur mon instrument, même après 30 ans de jeu. Il s’agit d’une occasion méditative qui me permet de tout oublier et de me plaire à produire du son. J’y trouve une certaine poésie, mais je réalise que ce n’est pas le cas pour tout le monde! Or, la pratique des sons filés améliore incomparablement le jeu de mes élèves. Que faire, alors, pour la rendre intéressante et inspirante pour les moins-geek-que-moi? Ah, j’ai tellement de stratégies…

Son et silence

Instrumentation : vents, cuivres, cordes, percussions mélodiques
Âge et niveau d’habileté : tous les âges, intermédiaire à avancé
Nombre de participants : 6-35

Depuis longtemps, ma méthode de prédilection pour travailler les sons filés est un jeu musical où les instrumentistes ont deux choix :

  1. jouer un son filé
  2. jouer un silence
Campbell, Son et silence

Les sons filés et les silences peuvent se chevaucher n’importe comment, ce qui crée des textures et des timbres qui évoluent au fil des entrées et des sorties intercalées des instrumentistes.

Campbell, Son et silence, une variation

La hauteur des notes peut être prédéterminée ou non. Voici des exemples d’ensembles prédéterminés de notes :

Choisissez parmi :

  1. Un mi situé dans n’importe quel registre
  2. N’importe quelle note d’un accord spécifique (par exemple, do majeur ou mi mineur)
  3. N’importe quelle note d’une gamme spécifique (par exemple, une gamme pentatonique ou une gamme de ré majeur)
  4. N’importe quelle note d’un tétracorde tel que (0, 1, 2, 6) ou do, do dièse, ré, fa dièse
  5. N’importe quelle note de la gamme chromatique

Pour toute option, l’exécution peut se prolonger pendant un certain temps. Encouragez l’écoute et le dialogue musical chez vos participant·es. Chaque groupe – y compris le vôtre – arrivera à un traitement différent des matériaux.

La prochaine fois, on verra comment transformer ce jeu en processus collaboratif de composition.