Droning on…

Circle games come out sounding very different depending on group dynamic. Some groups tend towards close imitation, leading to gradual evolution over time, playing with one or two of musical elements at a time. For example, if a group fixes pitch and focuses on changes in duration and dynamic, the group sound can become very drone-based, with gradually shifting timbres based on instrumentation. This is when droning on is definitely a good thing.

Campbell: Circle Game variations. Players play a fixed pitch (e.g. concert G) with a crescendo-decrescendo note shape. Overlap notes and breathe as necessary.

A different dynamic shape will create a very different sound. You can lead a different dynamic shape either by playing it or by suggesting it in words or images.

Campbell, Circle Game variations. Players play a fixed pitch (e.g. concert G) with the dynamic shape of a crescendo. Overlap notes and breathe as necessary.

We can flip the paradigm and fix a different element. Let’s fix the dynamic shape as a crescendo-decrescendo and leave pitch open. It’s a simple change, and sounds totally different. What happens when pitch and dynamic shape is fixed, and rhythm is open? Your drone might gradually start to groove. Open up pitch or dynamic shape, and we start to have more variety. Keep this up and your group will start to develop opinions about what is more musically effective, and you will be well on your way to creating a group composition. Here is one group’s score resulting from this process:

Co-composition based on Circles Games by Lindsay Place High School Etude students, facilitated by Louise Campbell in Culture in Schools workshop

This group tended towards close imitation when playing circle games. Other groups tend towards radical changes in sound, jumping from one musical element to another, creating surprise and contrast even as the pitch is stable. Both are interesting strategies and useful in their own right. It’s up to you to read the dynamic of the group and build on the strengths of the people and group you are working with. Every group will come up with something totally unique to that group! That’s the beauty of circle games.

Campbell, Circle Game variations

 

One Note Wonder

‘Hello… helloo… hellooo…ellooo…llooooo….’ Circle games are beautiful, concrete examples of how individuals contribute to form a group. Change one person in a circle and the group sound changes. Send a ‘hello’ around the circle in one group sounds like a chorus of wolves, while another group erupts into a polyphony of greetings in various languages. It all depends on where you and your group take it.

The last post described a circle game based in repetition and variation. The task is to make a sound similar to the previous, rather than exact imitation. Sometimes this is easier said than done. To take an extreme example, imagine imitating a long tone on a trombone using a found instrument such as a tree branch full of dried leaves. It’s obviously not going to sound the same. How can a long tone be imitated by a tree branch? It all depends on the musical element you chooses to imitate.

Ask your participants to brainstorm the elements that make up music:

  • Time (rhythm, duration)
  • Pitch (melody, harmony, gesture)
  • Dynamics
  • Tone/texture
  • Form

Form is established by the circle game. Fix another element, leaving the rest open to play with. Here is a circle game where pitch is fixed:

One Note Wonder

Pre-establish a pitch to send around the circle. One person plays that pitch for the length of one breath. When you hear the person to your left play, add your sound to theirs, imitating or varying their sound using time, dynamics and tone/texture.

This is one of my favourite games, since there is security in knowing what to do (i.e. the fixed element) and room to play (everything else!). Let your participants play and discover what they like and do not like. A group sound will start to emerge and lead you and your group to the next step.

Going loopy

Featuring: École secondaire Pointe-aux-Trembles
Karine Lalonde, Music teacher
Nikola, Sec. III violinist

Working with teenagers can be as rewarding as it is challenging. Get them hooked on something and they’ll run further than you ever imagined. But if they’re not interested… ouch. I knew I hit on something earlier this year in an Artist in Schools workshop at École secondaire Pointe-aux-Trembles when I did a demonstration playing clarinet with guitar pedals. When I finished playing, I saw 25 teenagers with their mouths hanging open and heard: ‘on peut faire de la musique comme ça ?, ‘est-ce que je peux essayer ?, ‘mind-blowing’…

Hooking someone up to pedals is the easiest thing in the world. Just put the pedal on a delay setting, hold a mic by their instrument and ask them to play one note. The pedal plays it back. Over. And over. And over. This immediacy allows people to instantly hear what they played. Most amateurs are quite refined listeners; they know right away if they like what they hear or not!

This was certainly the case with Nikola, a violinist in his first year of playing and the first student to use my looper after the demonstration. We had the advantage of having completed two workshops on improvising in the Game genre, in addition to the excellent musical training he receives from his music teacher Karine Lalonde. Beyond that, I can take no credit for the following sound samples: I held the mic, explained how the loop pedal worked and Nikola took it from there. After a few trials, here is the first loop he made:

Rhythmic loop by Nikola, delay setting equivalent to mm=120

During the recording of this loop, Nikola wasn’t satisfied with a high, sustained sound and wanted something a little less piercing. Karine, a very fine violinist, showed him how to play a touch-fourth harmonic, which created exactly the kind of sound he was looking for.

Since Nikola’s first loop was rhythmic and droney, I suggested he do something contrasting using glissandi. Here is his second loop:

Glissandi loop by Nikola, delay setting equivalent to mm=120

After class, I wanted to show Nikola one example of what could be done with two contrasting loops. Here’s the result:

Loops by Nikola, arrangement by Louise Campbell

What I would really like to hear is what Nikola would have done with his two loops. My current homework: checking out free apps so students can record, create and mix their own loops with a minimum of gear. Look out, 2018-19, I’ve got some new Artist in Schools workshops in the making!

A note on tech requirements: tech does not have to be fancy or expensive. Here’s my rule of thumb: assess the gear you have and supplement to make it functional. Check out free looping apps, amps with built-in delay and reverb and loop pedals. Ask your students what they already know and do: chances are a few already make their own mixes. Use their favourite gear, and you’ll have an expert who’s excited to talk gear and share what they know with their newly plugged-in counterparts.

Music at your fingertips, part two

The previous blog post detailed a process for making creative music using cellphones for recording and playback. What happens when we experiment with pitch material and incorporate acoustic instruments into the mix?

The process: full class

  1. Ask students to make recordings of 3-5 long tones on concert Bb separated by silences. Playback using as many phones as possible, resulting in a concert Bb drone. So this:

    Becomes something like this:

    Example: Cellphone cue from Waxworks by Trina Davies, directed by Glenda Stirling, sound design by Louise Campbell (CUE production, 2017)

  2. Ask a few students to improvise using a concert Bb scale. Keep it simple – sometimes just walking up a few notes of the scale can be quite beautiful.
  3. Record 3-5 long tones on concerts A and Bb. Playback results in a shifting semi-tone drone.
  4. Ask few brave souls to improvise using concert Bb scale. How does it sound different against a semi-tone compared to unison?
  5. Ask students to choose 3-4 pitches to record, such as A-C-E-G or D-F#-Bb. Playback.
  6. Improvise using the same notes as the recordings, and then add one note to fill in the intervals until students come up with a scale that works with the recorded pitch choices.

Break out groups:

  1. Divide students into groups of 6-8 with the task of choosing their own pitches, recording, playback and improvising. How does a smaller group change the texture of playback and improvisation compared to larger group?

 

Memory and Making the Most of Ear Worms

Ever got a tune stuck in your head? And couldn’t get it out?

As Oliver Sacks discussed (Musicophilia, 2008), ear worms are songs that repeat over and over in your head. The jury is out on how and why this happens: but we’ve all had the experience of that tune going round, right round, baby, right round-round, baby, round like a record, baby….

You get the idea! Let’s use this funny brain hiccup to help you and your students create a memory game embedded with the information you want your students to know inside out and backwards.

The game: Fruit Salad is a rhythm game that features word-based chants. The chants are repeated and layered an indeterminate number of times. The following score uses rhythmic chants of different lengths: 3, 4 and 5 beats long. When layered, the chants phase due to their different lengths.

Fruit Salad, Louise Campbell

How to toss the fruit salad:

  1. As a class, learn each chant by heart. Loop as many times as necessary until comfortable.
  2. Drop a word(s) from the chant and replace it with a rest(s). See boxes in the score above for suggestions of what to drop.
  3. Add a word(s) back into the chant.
  4. Find a way to add/drop words on the fly.
  5. Divide your class into 2-3 groups, and assign one chant per group. Ask each group to practice the chant until they can loop it easily and add/drop words on the fly.
  6. Bring the class back together and loop the chants at the same time, adding and dropping words at will.

On the level of memory, participants learn the chants by rote, and then challenge and integrate memory through the game of keeping their place in the chant as words are added and dropped. The result is a groovy group rhythm in which different words from the chants pop out at different times. The game itself is fun to play, and has all kinds of interesting musical possibilities.

Now imagine how you can make this game work for you and your students in terms of memory – say you use this game when teaching your students about nutrition. Chances are if you ask your students on a test to name a number of fruits, they will come out with the fruit in the chant they learned. What if you and your students made up a chant with examples of each of the major food groups? The information will be even more committed to memory if students come up with the chants themselves.

A chanting game can be made out of any material you want your students to memorize. Pick a topic and ask your students to brainstorm words associated to that topic. Then ask students to play with the words as rhythm, dropping and adding, arranging and re-arranging the words to be as groovy as possible. For best results for memory, the chants can be made to represent a ‘chunk’ of information, as in one chant dedicated to a specific food group.

The key is to boil it down to the essentials – words and rhythm – to make the chant rhythmic and catchy. In the process of playing with the words, your students will be committing the chant to memory, building their own earworms out of information needed to master a subject. Who knows how far you and your students will take it – want your students to memorize the Periodic Table of Elements? It has some fabulously rhythmic words that would make a great rap!

Bourdonnement en cours…

Les jeux de cercle produisent des résultats sonores très différents selon la dynamique du groupe y prenant part. Certains groupes tendent vers une imitation fidèle; leur exploration d’un ou deux éléments musicaux donne lieu à une évolution graduelle du résultat sonore. Par exemple, si un groupe détermine la hauteur des notes et se concentre sur des modifications sur les plans de la durée et des nuances, le son du groupe peut prendre l’allure d’un bourdonnement dont la transmutation des timbres dépend de l’instrumentation. Un bourdonnement continu, dans ce contexte, c’est tout à fait souhaitable…

Campbell, Jeux de cercles: variations

Une suite de nuances différente produira un son bien différent. Vous pouvez indiquer une de ces progressions au groupe en la jouant, en la décrivant, ou en y faisant allusion à l’aide d’images.

Campbell, Jeux de cercles: variations

On peut renverser le paradigme et fixer les paramètres d’un autre élément. Déterminons que la suite de nuances donnée comporte un crescendo-decrescendo, et que les notes restent modifiables. Voilà une modification simple qui donne un résultat sonore tout autre. Que se passe-t-il quand on fixe la hauteur des notes et une suite de nuances, et qu’on se permet des modifier la rythmique? Votre bourdonnement pourrait se mettre à groover. Si on se donne plus de latitude avec la hauteur des notes ou la suite des nuances, on obtiendra des résultats diversifiés. Si vous poursuivez ce processus, votre groupe se mettra à former des opinions sur ce qui fonctionne le mieux au plan musical, et la création d’une composition de groupe sera alors bien entamée. Voici la partition d’un groupe ayant complété ce procédé :

Co-composition basé sur Jeux de cercles, de l’École secondaire Lindsay Place, animé par Campbell dans des ateliers La Culture à l’école

Lorsqu’il a joué à des jeux de cercle, ce groupe-ci a préféré l’imitation précise. D’autres groupes préfèrent les changements radicaux au plan sonore : ceux-ci sautent d’un élément musical à l’autre, créant même un élément de surprise ou de contraste alors que la hauteur reste fixe. Ces deux stratégies sont utiles et intéressantes en soi. À vous, donc, de saisir la dynamique du groupe et exploiter les forces des gens et du groupe avec lesquels vous travaillez. Chaque groupe proposera ses idées, qui seront tout à fait uniques et propres à lui! Voilà ce qui fait la beauté des jeux de cercle.

 

Note sans lendemain

« Allô… allôô… allôôô… llôôô… llôôôôô… » Les jeux de cercle sont de beaux exemples concrets de ce que contribuent les individus à la formation d’un groupe. Si on remplace une personne au sein du cercle, le son du groupe s’en trouve changé. Si on fait passer un « allô » dans deux cercles, on observe la complainte des loups chez le premier groupe, et une irruption polyphonique de salutations en langues diverses chez le second. Tout dépend de la direction que vous prenez avec votre groupe.

L’article précédent décrivait un jeu de cercle basé sur la répétition et la variation. La consigne est de reproduire, de façon approximative plutôt qu’exacte, le son précédent. Parfois, c’est plus facile à dire qu’à faire. Prenons un exemple extrême : imaginez que vous imitez un son filé sur un trombone en vous servant d’un « instrument trouvé » telle qu’une branche d’arbre pleine de feuilles séchées. Évidemment, vous ne produirez pas un son de trombone. Comment peut-on simuler un son filé à l’aide d’une branche d’arbre? Cela dépend entièrement de l’élément musical que vous choisissez d’imiter.

Demandez à vos participant·e·s de faire un brainstorming des éléments constituant la musique :

  • Éléments temporels (rythme, durée)
  • Hauteur des sons (mélodie, harmonie, geste)
  • Nuances
  • Couleur et texture sonores
  • Forme

Le jeu de cercle établit la forme. Fixez les paramètres d’un autre élément tout en permettant aux gens de s’amuser avec les éléments restants. Voici un jeu de cercle où on a prédéterminé la hauteur des notes :

Note sans lendemain

Sélectionnez une note de hauteur prédéterminée et donnez-la au cercle. Une personne produit cette note sur une respiration complète. Lorsque vous entendez la personne à votre gauche produire un son, rajoutez votre son au sien, soit en l’imitant, soit en variant son élément temporel, ses nuances, et sa couleur et sa texture sonore.

Si ce jeu figure parmi mes préférés, c’est parce qu’il sécurise les participants (grâce à son élément prédéterminé) tout en leur donnant la liberté de s’amuser (avec le reste!). Faites jouer vos participant·e·s et laissez-les découvrir ce qu’ils·elles aiment et n’aiment pas. Vous et votre groupe constaterez l’émergence d’un son de groupe, ce qui vous mènera à la prochaine étape.

Loops en folie

En vedette : l’École secondaire de la Pointe-aux-Trembles
Karine Lalonde, enseignante en musique
Nikola, violoniste, 3e secondaire
 
Travailler avec des ados peut s’avérer aussi gratifiant que difficile. Si on réussit à les accrocher avec une activité quelconque, ils y mettront une énergie insoupçonnée – mais s’ils ne sont pas intéressés… ouille. J’ai compris que j’avais touché une corde sensible cette année lors d’un atelier Une école accueille un artiste, que j’animais alors à l’école secondaire de la Pointe-aux-Trembles. J’ai fait une démonstration de mon jeu de clarinette après l’avoir raccordé à des pédales de loop. Quand j’ai eu terminé, j’ai vu 25 ados, bouche bée, et j’ai entendu « On peut faire de la musique comme ça? », « Est-ce que je peux essayer? », « hallucinant »…

Il n’y a rien de plus facile que d’installer une pédale de loop pour quelqu’un. On active simplement le mode delay sur la pédale, on tient un micro près de leur instrument et on leur demande de jouer une note. La pédale fait rejouer cette note… encore et encore. Cette fonction permet aux gens de réécouter ce qu’ils viennent tout juste de jouer. La plupart des musiciens amateurs ont une écoute plutôt raffinée : ils distinguent instantanément ce qu’ils aiment de ce qu’ils n’aiment pas!

Ça a certainement été le cas de Nikola, violoniste qui joue de son instrument depuis cette année, et le premier élève à s’être servi de ma pédale de loop après ladite démonstration. Nous avions l’avantage d’avoir complété deux ateliers d’improvisation axés sur des jeux musicaux interactifs; d’autre part, son enseignante en musique, Karine Lalonde, lui offre actuellement une excellente formation. À part ça, je n’ai aucun mérite en ce qui concerne les échantillons sonores suivants : j’ai tenu le micro, je lui ai expliqué le fonctionnement de la pédale, et Nikola s’est chargé du reste. Quelques essais plus tard, voici son premier loop :

Loop rythmique de Nikola, réglage du delay à 120 ms

Pendant l’enregistrement de ce loop, Nikola n’était pas satisfait d’un son aigu soutenu : il souhaitait obtenir un son un peu moins strident. Karine, une excellente violoniste, lui a donc montré comment jouer une harmonique artificielle à distance de quarte – précisément le genre de son qu’il cherchait.

Puisque le premier loop de Nikola avait produit une espèce de bourdonnement rythmique, je lui ai suggéré de développer une idée contrastante en se servant de glissandos. Voici son deuxième loop :

Loop de Nikola créé à partir de glissandos, réglage du delay à 120 ms

Après le cours, j’ai voulu offrir à Nikola un exemple de ce qu’on pourrait faire avec deux loops contrastants. Voici le résultat :

Loops de Nikola, arrangement de Louise Campbell

Je serais très intéressée d’entendre les résultats auxquels Nikola serait arrivé avec ses deux loops. Ma mission actuelle : rechercher des applis gratuites permettant à des élèves d’enregistrer, de créer et de mixer leurs propres loops en se servant d’un minimum d’équipement. Tenez-vous bien, j’ai de nouveaux ateliers Une école accueille un artiste en chantier pour 2018-’19!

Une note sur les besoins techniques : il n’est pas nécessaire que l’équipement soit sophistiqué ou coûteux. Voici un principe général utile : évaluez l’équipement que vous avez à votre disposition et rajoutez-y ce qu’il faut pour qu’il puisse servir. Recherchez des applis de looping gratuites, des amplis avec fonctions delay et reverb intégrées, et des pédales de loop. Demandez à vos élèves ce qu’ils savent et font déjà : il est probable qu’il y en a parmi eux qui font déjà leur propre mixage. Servez-vous de leur équipement préféré, et vous vous retrouverez avec des experts qui s’emballeront à parler d’équipement et à partager leurs connaissances avec leurs collègues tout fraîchement branchés.

La musique au bout de vos doigts, deuxième partie

Dans l’article de blog précédent, j’ai détaillé un processus de création musicale où on emploie des téléphones cellulaires pour enregistrer des pistes et les faire rejouer. Qu’est-ce qui se passe quand on expérimente avec des notes de hauteurs variées, et quand on incorpore des instruments acoustiques?

Le processus

  1. Demandez aux élèves d’enregistrer 3 à 5 sons filés (si bémol concert) entrecoupés de silences sur leur téléphone. Faites rejouer ces sons sur un maximum d’appareils, ce qui donnera un bourdon (drone) en si bémol concert. Ça:
    1. …devient ça :

Exemple: Extrait Waxworks de Trina Davies, dirigé par Glenda Stirling, design sonore de Louise Campbell (Production CUE, 2017)

2. Demandez à quelques élèves d’improviser en utilisant une gamme de si bémol concert. La simplicité est de rigueur – on obtient parfois de très beaux résultats en ne jouant que quelques notes longues ou un trait de gamme ascendant.

3. Demandez aux élèves d’enregistrer 3 à 5 sons filés (la et si bémol concert). Faites rejouer ces sons sur un maximum d’appareils.

4. Demandez à quelques téméraires d’improviser avec une gamme de si bémol concert. Comment le résultat sonore est-il différent selon qu’on improvise contre le bourdon en la ou celui en si bémol?

5. Demandez aux élèves de choisir 3 à 4 notes différentes à enregistrer, par exemple, la-do-mi-sol ou ré-fa dièse-si bémol.

6. Demandez à quelques élèves d’improviser avec les mêmes notes que celles qu’ils·elles ont enregistrées et, ensuite, d’ajouter une note à la fois jusqu’à l’obtention d’une gamme qui fonctionne avec les notes enregistrées.

Troisième étape :

  1. Formez des groupes de 6 à 8 élèves; donnez-leur comme mission de choisir leurs propres notes, les enregistrer, les faire rejouer sur leurs cellulaires et improviser pendant la lecture des pistes. Les groupes avancés peuvent expérimenter avec la durée des sons filés et des silences. Comment cette variation simple modifie-t-elle la texture et les possibilités d’impro?